CPIML District Conference in Giridih
by Shankar Pandey

The 13th district conference of CPIML in Giridih was held on 17-18 February in Mirzaganj of Jamua block. The conference was preceded by a Jan Sankalp March which was led by comrades Dipankar Bhattacharya, Janardan Prasad, Vinod Singh, Manoj Bhakt and Rajkumar Yadav. A large number of people and delegates marched with the slogans on a five kilometre stretch of road up to the Conference venue. The campus where the conference was held was dedicated to the memory of Comrade Kartik Das and the conference hall was renamed after Comrade Ibnul Hasan Basru. The conference began with the hoisting of red flag by veteran communist leader Tribhuvan Ram followed by floral tributes to the martyrs and one minute silence in their memory.

Comrade Dipankar in his address in the open session said this conference is held in the land of struggles by comrades Mahendra Singh and Ibnul Hasan Basru whose legacy we cherish. At a time when the Supreme Court has declared Electoral Bonds as unconstitutional, then how the government led by the party which came to power with the help of those bonds be considered legitimate! Jharkhand foiled the BJP attempt to destabilise the state government by arresting Hemant Soren. Our leader and MLA Vinod Singh was at the forefront to foil this fascist conspiracy inside the Vidhan Sabha as well as outside. CPIML has won the hearts and confidence of the state's Adivasi and democracy loving people and we are confident that the revolutionary red flag of Mahendra Singh, Ibnul Hasan Basru and Gurudas Chatterjee will be victorious in forthcoming parliamentary elections from Koderma. 

Vinod Singh, Politburo member and MLA from Bagodar, said for a very long time BJP candidates have been elected from Koderma but the fulfilment of people’s aspirations has never been on this party’s agenda. The Raghuvar Das and Babulal Marandi’s tenures as chief minister were marred by huge corruption. The CPIML has fought this kind of corrupt politics with intense mass mobilisations and effective interventions inside the state Assembly.

Rajkumar Yadav, state committee member, reiterated the party's resolve to fight for the rights of workers and peasants in the district and strengthen the struggles for Mica mining workers, for forest rights, and against evictions and displacements of poor in the district.

The open session was presided over by Ashok Paswan and conducted by Vijay Pandey. Comrade Vinod Singh presented the work report which was passed by the house after discussions. The conference elected a 51-member District Committee which elected Comrade Janardan Prasad unanimously. Comrade Bhubaneshwar Bedia was the Observer for this conference.

CPIML District Conference in Giridih